Restoration

YUKON’s History
Originally named Elly she was built in 1930 at Hjorne and Jacobsen’s shipyard in Fredrikshavn north of Jutland. Oak on oak, ketch rigged with a 67 hp auxiliary Tuxham motor.

She is a member of the first generation of Danish fishing trawlers that were built with an engine. Resulting in a change of fishing technique, so they were nicknamed hajkutter or shark kutters after their effectiveness.

The vertical planking around the transom bulwarks could easily be likened to a row of threatening teeth so the nickname fits.

YUKON continued to fish commercially up to 1974 apart from a short period during the war where the she was commandeered by the German navy.

In 1951, she got her current name as a result of a fishing family that struck it lucky in the goldfields of Alaska on the banks of the Yukon River.

From 1974 up until 1997, Yukon sailed as a pleasure boat and became well known around the various regattas in Denmark.

Restoration
From 1997-2004, Yukon underwent a major restoration which means basically the ship is brand new from the waterline up. This includes new engine, electrics and systems.

restoration-collage